Time to Send Your First Book Manuscript!

C.D. Wright will serve as this year’s guest judge for the annual American Poetry Review /Honickman First Book Prize. The prize offers publication of a book of poems, a $3,000 award, and distribution by Copper Canyon Press through Consortium. C.D. Wright has published over a dozen books, including Rising, Falling, Hovering (2008); Like Something Flying Backwards: New and Selected Poems (2007); and One Big Self: An Investigation (2003), a project she undertook with photographer Deborah Luster to document Louisiana inmates. She has also published several book-length poems, including the critically acclaimed Deepstep Come Shining (1998). Her honors include a MacArthur Fellowship, a Lannan Literary Award, and membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2013, she was elected as a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.

Nicole Sealey Receives The 2014 Stanley Kunitz Prize for Younger Poets

Nicole Photo.jpg
We are delighted to announce that Nicole Sealey has been chosen as the winner of this year’s Stanley Kunitz Prize for Younger Poets for her poem “Virginia Is for Lovers.” She will receive an award of $1,000 and the poem will be featured in the September/October 2014 issue.   Born in St. Thomas, U.S.V.I. and raised in Apopka, Florida, Nicole Sealey is a Cave Canem graduate fellow and the recipient of a 2014 Elizabeth George Foundation Grant. Winner of the 2012 Poetry International Prize and selected for inclusion in Best New Poets 2011, her work has appeared in Callaloo, Harvard Review, Poetry International, Ploughshares, and Third Coast, among other literary online and print journals. Nicole holds an MLA in Africana Studies from the University of South Florida and an MFA in creative writing from New York University. She is the Programs Director at Cave Canem Foundation.  Congratulations, Nicole!

In Memoriam, Stephen Berg

We are grieved to announce the passing of our founding editor, Stephen Berg. Stephen Berg was the driving force behind The American Poetry Review at our inception in 1972. He defined our mission: to make contemporary poetry a more public and accessible art. As there was not enough time to prepare an appropriate memorial for the July/August issue, we will honor the many writing and publishing accomplishments of Stephen Berg in our September/October 2014 issue.

Katherine Bode-Lang Wins 2014 APR/Honickman Book Prize

Bode-Lang Author Photo for web.jpg

The Editors of The American Poetry Review and The Honickman Foundation are happy to announce the winner of 2014 APR/Honickman First Book Prize. Congratulations, Katherine Bode-Lang!

The prize is an award of $3,000 and publication of a debut collection to be distributed by Copper Canyon Press. This year’s winner, The Reformation, was selected by Stephen Dunn.

APR now at The University of the Arts

UA logo.gif

The American Poetry Review is happy to announce our new affiliation with The University of the Arts. While maintaining our independent nonprofit status, we will now call the university home and look forward to the new possibilities this partnership will bring. Our new address is: The American Poetry Review at The University of the Arts, 320 South Broad Street, Hamilton 313, Philadelphia, PA 19102

An Interview with Nathaniel Perry, by Grant Clauser

Nathaniel Perry’s first book of poems, Nine Acres, won the 2011 APR/Honickman First Book prize, judged by Marie Howe. Nine Acres is written in meter and rhyme. Each poem is constructed of four stanzas in tetrameter—an approach not found in abundance in today’s poetry journals. Second, the poems are all from the point of view of a single speaker and take their titles from the chapters of a 1935 farming handbook by M.G. Kains called Five Acres and Independence.

Add to calendar
Syndicate content Subscribe to this.